Stories Matter is a mentorship program of professional female storytellers mentoring under-served young women ages 18-25.

Stories Matter aims to become a national event with small mentorship events supporting untold storytellers through poetry, songwriting and the written word.


Author Leslie Zemeckis in co-sponsorship with the Santa Barbara International Film Festival (“SBIFF”) will host the inaugural event January 2021, online for just 6 women who want to explore biography and memoir.


Some of these completed works will be published online in ENTITY Magazine which has a readership of over 1 Million.


Our goal is to advise, inspire and help these young women find their voice, tell their story (or the story of someone around them) and show them their story matters. Mentees will be chosen on their ability and desire to learn how to tell a story, their commitment and a commitment to then give back to younger girls. (We will provide them with the resources to find their potential mentees) The emphasis is on inspiration, empowerment of others, sharing and love of the written word.


Our Board of Champions is made up of philanthropist and entrepreneurs, and include Susan Rockefeller, philanthropist, producer and CEO of “Musings Magazine, ”Karine Ohana of Ohana & Co, international investment bankers, Kara Ross, entrepreneur, founder of the nonprofit media organization UNLEASHED, Jaclynn Brennan, Fashion Influencer and Branding Specialist, Jennifer Schwab, CEO of “Entity Magazine,” and Kerri Murray President of ShelterBox USA, an international disaster relief charity.


Stories Matter is the idea of Leslie Zemeckis, a best-selling author, writer and award-winning documentarian. Honored for her work inspiring women, in 2020 she will be awarded the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in part for “sharing and preserving stories of women who were once marginalized and stigmatized . . .” but due to her work “these women are now celebrated for their independence and personal agency.” The Medal is officially recognized by both Houses of Congress and is one of our nation’s most prestigious awards. Past recipients include Presidents Clinton and Reagan, Elie Wiesel, Sen. John McCain and HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco.


Interested in participating or sponsorship contact